Skip to Content

Joe Dever’s Lone Wolf Gamebook Series Returns in Paperback After 30 Years

Joe Dever’s Lone Wolf Gamebook Series Returns in Paperback After 30 Years

Joe Dever’s epic gamebook series, Lone Wolf, is back in paperback for the first time in over 30 years, allowing a new generation of readers to enter the world of Magnamund. Originally published in 1984, the series has sold over 12 million copies worldwide, and its author Joe Dever became a pioneer in the fantasy gaming industry. Dever passed away from cancer in 2016, but before he did, he passed on his notes for the final three books to his son, Ben, who has been working to complete the series and bring it back into print.

The first five books in the series are now available in paperback, with books six and seven to be published in May. The series will continue to be published throughout 2023 and 2024, with definitive editions that include additional background material and expansions contributed by the Lone Wolf fan community.

Gamebooks are interactive novels where readers take on the role of the hero and are given choices that affect the outcome of the adventure. Each book can be played many times, and new paths can be discovered. The Lone Wolf gamebooks take place in the same fantasy world, Magnamund, and each book provides a piece to an overall epic saga. With the recent revival in popularity of fantasy roleplaying games such as Dungeons & Dragons, a new generation is discovering the series, including the children of the original readers.

Ben Dever, who is co-authoring the final book, The Light of the Kai, with Vincent Lazzari, has been working hard to continue his father’s legacy. Although he initially had no personal interest in the Lone Wolf books or fantasy gaming, he left his work as a music event director to immerse himself in the world of Lone Wolf and its community of fans. The series is published by Holmgard Press, and the first five books are available now in paperback at all good bookshops and online booksellers.