Skip to content

2011 Windhammer Prize - Notification of Results

Chronicles of Arborell announce 2011 Windhammer results:

From their announcement: is pleased to announce that the winner of the 2011 Windhammer Prize for Short Gamebook Fiction is Andrew Wright for his excellent sea-faring adventure, Sea of Madness. can also announce that Ashton Saylor and Zachary Carango have placed second and third in the popular vote and are therefore worthy Merit Award winners with their entries, Peledgathol - The Last Fortress and Above the Waves respectively. This year has seen an amazing selection of entries, covering a wide range of fantasy and sci-fi settings and all have done very well. Considering the limitations provided by the competition guidelines the authors who have offered entries this year have shown once again, that great gamebook ideas can be made to fit into very small spaces.

I would like to thank everybody who participated, the authors and those dedicated readers who took the time to evaluate all the entries, and also a further thanks to those readers who provided feedback and comment to the authors. It can be disclosed that more than 5300 visitors made their way to the prize webpages over the course of the competition and that from those visits more than 2100 downloads were made of competition entries. From these downloads more than double the votes were forwarded compared with last year. Thank you all for making this the most successful Windhammer Prize yet.

It was my intention to provide feedback and a wrap-up of competition activity at this time, however a large amount of additional feedback has been provided in the last two days that will take a short time to accumulate and forward on to participants. I should have all feedback to authors within the next 48 hours.

All information regarding the Windhammer Prize can be found at

May Glory and Renown follow all who have participated.

Wayne Densley
Chronicles of Arborell
2011 Windhammer Prize for Short Gamebook Fiction